SHAR PEI BREEDERS

The Shar Pei is often suspicious of strangers, which pertains to their origin as a guard dog. It is a very independent and reserved breed. Nevertheless, the Shar Pei is extremely devoted, loyal and affectionate to its family and is amenable to accepting strangers given time and proper introduction at a young age. If poorly socialized or trained, it can become especially territorial and aggressive. Even friendly and well-socialized individuals will retain the breed’s watch-dog proclivities (like barking at strangers). It is a largely silent breed, barking only when it is playing or worried. The Shar-Pei were originally bred as palace guards in China. Although Shar-Pei are sometimes stubborn, they are receptive to fair, compassionate training. With repetition and a clear reward system, training is not very difficult, however they do not respond well to negative and cruel treatment. Overall, the Shar Pei can be a dog that is loyal and loving to its family while being very protective. Shar-Pei do not like to be alone, preferring to be close to their humans, often lying nearby in the same room.

When looking for a puppy to purchase it is highly recommended to contact any of the Breed Clubs we have listed for this breed since it is they who should be able to put you in touch with members who have bred litters according to their Club’s Code of Ethics.

BUYER BEWARE; Some breeders listed here may not be members of a Shar Pei Breed Club, there may be good reasons for this, but ask the question before you enter into any transaction.

AUSTRALIA

PERTH . Canning Vale; Eliterolys Shar Pei, Tony & Sue Mallia +0402 944 000 tony@warp1.com.au

CZECH REPUBLIC

Novosedly Nad Než.; “Arin-Pei” Alena Korandová, alena@info-sharpei.com

FINLAND

KARJALOHJA ; Secret Lines Shar Pei, Marja Sorsa merja@secretlines.net

HUNGARY

HAJDU-BIHAR; “Phanatic” Major Lajos, + 0036-20/946-4574 phanatic.sharpei@gmail.com

IRELAND

DOWN; “Gimili” Pamela Anderson, +02892 699617 pamela_gimili@hotmail.com
KERRY; “Qing Iverna” Adele Kerrisk, +00353877525417 akerrisk@yahoo.ie
WEXFORD; “Zaralee” Tracy Shelly, ++35351422145 +353877906226 tracy@zaralee.com

POLAND

WROCLAW; “Tender-Ling Silesia” Denis Nowikow, +48 71 311-11-77 / +48 502-845-545 sharpei1@poczta.onet.pl

UNITED KINGDOM

ANGUS; “Allanaquoich Shar Pei, Angela McInally +07722518577 taysidesharpei@virginmedia.com
AYRSHIRE; “Rebohms” Tina Macintyre, +01475 521605 tina@sharpei.plus.com
BEDFORDSHIRE; “Wanmei” Rasa Wilkins, +07810014564 rasajames@gmail.com
BERKSHIRE; “MogwaiPeis” Paul Blackmore, +07950 602525 MogwaiPeis@Tesco.net
CAMBRIDGESHIRE; “Chifido” Jenny Webb, +01945 871479 / +07722959214 chifido@btinternet.com
CLEVELAND; “Chasinrainbo” Mr B Gunn, +07853815147 chasin-rainbo@hotmail.com
DERBYSHIRE; “Peandokry” Pete & Angela Rachael, +angie.rachael@btinternet.com
DERBYSHIRE; “Fujita” Michelle & Blanche Shaw, +0115 9321686 fujita@hotmail.co.uk
DORSET; “Starferry” Carole & Barry Bull, +441202939881 / +07786361563 carolebull1@googlemail.com
EAST YORKSHIRE; “Eshpari” Paul Donato, +07929777000 eshparisharpei@aol.com
HAMPSHIRE; “Takalok Shar Pei, Tony McQuilken & Barry Goff + 023 92 413468 tonytakalok@aol.com
LANCASHIRE; “Yuanpei Shar Pei, Sarah Neil yuanpei@me.com
NOTTINGHAMSHIRE; “Dataci” Chris & Julie Bradley, +01773 533356 / +07802192960 dataci@btinternet.com
SHROPSHIRE; “KAVIKING” KARLYNNE SELLSTROME, +01691 610780 / +07883005456 kaviking.karlynne@virgin.net
TYNE & WEAR; “Trinneo” Darren Chisholm & David Ashaman. +0191 5491406 / +07872333496 dazboy8152@hotmail.co.uk
WARWICKSHIRE; “HEADHOLME” MAGGIE & CARLA ALLEN, +01530 263733 toffypuddin@talktalk.net
WEST MIDLANDS; “Quinnhalo” Jane Dawson, +02476 723536 jane_quinnhalo@hotmail.co.uk
WEST MIDLANDS; “Petralais” Mr Spencer Davies, +07971 070801 dogues@petralais.co.uk
WEST SUSSEX; “Kolnago” Kevin and Lin Shaw, +01293 511700 kolnagosharpei1@blueyonder.co.uk