OTTERHOUND BREEDERS

There are an estimated 1000 Otterhounds in the world. It is considered to be the most endangered native breed in the UK, with only 15 new registrations in 2011. This is partially because Otterhounds have never been numerous, and even in the early 20th century, when otter hunting was at the height of its popularity as a sport, the number of dogs was still small. They are on the list of Vulnerable Breeds as identified by the UK Kennel Club, and great efforts are being made to save the breed.

When looking for a puppy to purchase it is highly recommended to contact any of the Breed Clubs we have listed for this breed since it is they who should be able to put you in touch with members who have bred litters according to their Club’s Code of Ethics.

BUYER BEWARE;  Some breeders listed here may not be members of a Otterhound Breed Club, there may be good reasons for this, but ask the question before you enter into any transaction.

CANADA

AL , Avitar ; Bev Biren; +(403) 272-6974; Ohound@shaw.ca

UNITED KINGDOM

WARWICKSHIRE; KINGSTREE; JUDITH ASHWORTH; 01926 641051; kingstreeotterhounds@callnetuk.co

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ALASKA; Riverspruce; Ron Abernathy & Ken Cheatham; +(907) 490 5996; r.e.abernathy@acsalaska.net
CALIFORNIA; Blue Fairy; Ashka & Mike Gordon; BlueFairyOH@gmail.com
ILLINOIS; Riverrun; Eibhlin Glennon; eibhlinglennon@yahoo.com
IOWA; Sonsie; Beverly Krejsa; BeverlyKrejsa@yahoo.com
MARYLAND; Ironquest; Joellen Gregory, DVM; info@ironquestotterhounds.com
MARYLAND; Poplar Hill; Kathy Munger; KM_Poplarhill@yahoo.com
MARYLAND; DeKenchar; Deborah & Kandall Steffen; (410) 394-6578; hounds@dekenchar.com
MICHIGAN; OHeavens; Nancy & Karmen Lange; +(269) 209-6349;
NEW JERSEY; Four Pillars; Deborah & Barbara Follett; (908) 507-8163; DeborahFollett@comcast.net
OHIO; Corcragael; Gael & Bob Damron; (740) 346-0842; corcragael@aol.com
OHIO; Aberdeen; Andy & Jack McIllwaine; (216) 570-9526; andy@aberdeenotterhounds.com
OHIO; Montizard; Doug Young; (740) 536-7161; young@montizard.com
TEXAS; Lonestar; Jeff Harris; (830) 515-8652; jrharris36@netzero.com
TEXAS; Hunter’s; Linda & Allen Schrader; +(903) 862-3482; mjs72eas77@yahoo.com
WASHINGTON; Conestoga; Chery & John Mullen; +(509) 392-1659; jcmullen@clearwire.net