BRIARD BREEDERS OF MERIT

The Briard is a very loyal and protective breed, and is sometimes called “a heart of gold wrapped in fur”. Once they have bonded to their family members, they will be very protective. They can be aloof with strangers – new introductions should be on the dog’s terms, including furniture or the addition of a new baby into the household. They require showing that the new intrusion is friendly and free of conflict. They must be taught that it is a good thing and not harmful. They have proven to be a very good breed to have around children of all ages. Indeed, these dogs rapidly develop an affection to their owners. They are very emotional, capable of crying for a long time after their owners’ departure and celebrate their return in a very enthusiastic way.

It is also important that the Briard be introduced to several different individuals of all ages and in all types of situations. Socialization starting at a very young age is mandatory. Briards should be walked as often as possible, to many different places, and they will develop into a well rounded animal.

The Briard has a very good memory. Once a lesson is learned, good or bad, the knowledge will be retained for a long time to come. Sometimes they may appear to be strong minded and stubborn but these are a few of the Briard’s characteristics. They were bred for centuries to think for themselves and to act upon their conclusions, sometimes to the point of thinking what the “flock” will do ahead of time.These are some of the traits that the Briard has retained throughout history. Even if a Briard is a city dweller, they have a degree of herding ability within them. If ever, during their lifetime, they are introduced to sheep or cattle, they will automatically start doing what they were bred to do, herding. They will even herd humans by nibbling on their ankles or guiding with their heads and guide them to his master if ordered.

When looking for a puppy to purchase it is highly recommended to contact any of the Breed Clubs we have listed for this breed since it is they who should be able to put you in touch with members who have bred litters according to their Club’s Code of Ethics.

BUYER BEWARE;  Some breeders listed here may not be members of a Briard Breed Club, there may be good reasons for this, but ask the question before you enter into any transaction.

ARGENTINA

Buenos Aires; Of the Promisse; Luis Rivero & Josefina Gallo; +54 1144543928

AUSTRALIA

NSW; TIAHART; Dave & Johanna Bartley; +02 46831252; tiahart@bigpond.com
QLD; CACHAREL; Carl and Anne Mitchell; + 0419642845; cacharel@briard.com.au

BELGIUM

BERRZEL; de la Maison Echaruq; Jef Verswijvel & Irene Van Genechten & Kathleen Verswijvel ; +32(0)15248810 ; echaruq@yahoo.com
BULLINGEN; de l`Avenue du Miel; Bärbel Mathesius – Zeumann; +32 (0)80-341885; avenue-du-miel@web.de
CONINGS;  des enfants de lutece; Mieke & Danny Schoenmakers; +32 (0)89 717868; Rekem-lanake; bovary@pi.be
COUILLET;  Du Pont de la Sambre; Michel & Anne-Marie Beaurent-Manet ; 32 (0) 495 41 63 62; beaurent.michel@belgacom.net
DELAERE;  du Champ d’Ardoye; Franky & Viviane Holvoet; +32 (0)51310341; franki.holvoet@skynet.be
GERPINNES; Pwèlus d’El Rotchète; M & Mme Duvivier – Denayer; +32 (0)472 936 990; lespwelus@hotmail.com
HECHTEL; du Manoir Noble; Snoeks-Gijsemann; +32 (0)11 735724; fa064500@skynet.be
IZEGEM; du Mas de Chantranne; Philippe & Ann Cneut-Decroix ; +32 (0)51 305098; chantranne@skynet.be
PIPAIX;  du Domaine Beau Regard; Jean-Luc & Katty Roeland-Demeyer; lebriardier@hotmail.be
LA HESTRE; de l’Arène Noire; Audrey & Walter Beaurent-Valentin; +32 (0)495127927; info@elevage-delarenenoire.be
LOKEREN; du Moulin d’Or; Nancy Taeymans – Goossens; +32 (0)9 349 58 89; nancy.taeymans@telenet.be
LOKEREN; Mémoire de Patrache; Sonja Cachard-van Lent; +32 (0)93365276; sonja.van.lent@telenet.be
MOLENBEERSE; Van Het Klotzicht; Cor & Karin Palmen-Kersten; +32 – 89 704583; info@vhklotzicht.nl
O-L-V-WAVER; de la maison d’Eden; Anja Goossens; +32 (0)15206330; guy.de.wit@telenet.be
ZUTENDAAL; du Lion d’Orange; Monique Jansen; +32 (0)489 276858 ; briards@moniquejansen.eu

CHILE

SANTIAGO; Reve d’Étranger; Ivan Zilic Schmidt; +56 – 9 – 9821 41 45; ivan@debrie.net

CZECH REPUBLIC

CESKY TESIN; Moravia Campanella; Pavla Firlová; +420 604-808140; Cesky Tesin; campanella@centrum.cz
CHOLTICE; Heaven Devil; Svatoslava Prochazkova; +420 604 927 389; heaven.devil@centrum.cz
DETMAROVICE; z Andaye; Jolana Segetová; +420 732106022 ; jolana.anday@seznam.cz
JACHYMOVSK; Black Suzan; Lenka Kudrhaltová; +420728 426966; blacksuzan@volny.cz
LINE-SULKOV; Heritage; Jana Kocová; + 420 723 580 922; heritage@heritage.cz
LYSA NAD LABERM; Brikam; Kamila Kucharová; +420723334395; brikam@email.cz
MELNIK; Gasaron; Alena Bendová; +420 603206728 ; gasaron@centrum.cz
MELNIK; Dourebrie; Renata Doudová; +420 604 934 624; dourebrie@seznam.cz
OSTRAVA; Nadina – Sis; Mgr. Nadežda Stralková ; +420 596118023; nadina-sis@volny.cz
PETROV U HODONINA; Badria´s Darling; Adriana Babicová; +420 604 448 287; Badria@seznam.cz
PRAHA 3; Koneto; Lenka Stetinova; +420 737781712; stetinova@seznam.cz
PRAHA 5; Velmond; Monika Domalípová; +420 606 914 194; velmondi@gmail.com
PRAHA 5; Fuzzy Heart; Mgr. Veronika Bartošová; +420 606377692; vneubertova@atlas.cz
PRAHA 6; z Marlendu; Renate Boumová; +420777202820; marlend@seznam.cz
PRAHA 8; Filia; Alice Filipova ; +420 603 303299
PRAHA 8; Bohemia Adyton; Iva Pazderova; +420603963980; adytonp@volny.cz
PRAHA 9; Nacambe; Zdena Fouckova; +420 604.840.001; zdena@nacambel.cz
PRAHA 9; Bohemia-elite; Alena Kotrcová; +420 603 286 876; bohemia-elite@seznam.cz
PRAZMO; Bella’s Liberi; Mgr. Dagmar Kubátková; +420 605 768 869; bellasliberi@gmail.com
PRIBRAM VII; Antisc Avalanche; Martina Volfová; antiscavalanche@seznam.cz
RICANY U PRAHY; Z Hermánku; Katka Koterová; +420607653807; koterova@seznam.cz
SENOV U OSTRAVY; Dalido; Daniela Kellovská; +420 596887125; kellovska@volny.cz
SLAVONICE; Bar-Bar Beskydy; MVDr. Barbora Krížová Zapletalová ; +420 603231345 Fax: ; bzapletalova@email.cz

DENMARK

BRAEDSTRUP;  Toulouse; Hansen Anja; +45(0)75751724; toulouse@energimail.dk
ESKILSTRUP; Le’Storm´s; Lene Storm; +45 32128585; lestorm@lestorm.dk
HORNBAEK;  Crépel de Saint’s; Gitte Jonna Aaskilde; aaskilde@post10.tele.dk
KRUSA;  Mon ami Pour Toujours; Linda Tjørnelund; +45 – 74 67 46 52; linda@briard.dk

ESTONIA

TARTU VALD;  Ab Imo Pectore; Tiina Haak; +37 256219501; tiina@sarapiku.net

FRANCE

BORDEAUX; du Chant des Floralins; Corinne Gravina ; +33 (0)556399272; chantfloralins@gmail.com
BRUGHEAS; Marie-Claude de Marchi; +33 (0)4 70 32 31 50; mc.demarchi@wanadoo.fr
COUDOUX; des feux de Beltame; Nicolas & Nathalie Gauthier ; +33 (0)4 42 52 11 49; astuce.briard@gmail.com
Pougny; des Enfants des Pierrailles; C. Perelli; +33 450 56 78 76; briard@pierrailles.com
Saint Just D’Ardeche; du Clos de la grand Jasse; Béatrice Letailleur; +33 (0) 475500826 ; beatrice.letailleur@sfr.fr
Naucelles; du grand manouche; Lionel & Mireille Roquesalane ; +33 (0)4 71 64 09 78; lionel.roquesalane@orange.fr
Fontafie; de la Petite Rochette; Nicole Muller; +33 (0) 619.181.626; lapetiterochette@orange.fr
GUINGAMP; de Nedjma; Tmomas Riou; +33 (0)2 96 44 25 09; nedjmariou@hotmail.com
La Planee; du paradis des coeurs tendres; Christine Pagnier; +33 03 81 69 64 20; pcoeurstendres25@orange.fr
Ezahut; du Domaine des Peluches; Thierry & Cathy Fayolle; +33 (0)4 75 90 42 00; thierry.cathy.fayolle@wanadoo.fr
Levainville; du Val de l’Auguis; Valérie Flavenot; +33 – (0)2 37 31 57 25; info@briards.fr
Rochecorbon;  la Tour Saint Genin; Annie Tabutaud; +33 (0)247 52 59 73; tour.stgenin@wanadoo.fr
Montlouis sur Loire; De la Borie des Angelys; Nathalie Poussard; +33 (0)2 47 50 73 65; nathaliepoussard@gmail.com
Carcarès Sainte Croix ; Les Milans Noirs; Isabelle Duval ; +33 (0)5 58 73 33 72; contact@milans-noirs.fr
La Bussiere; Le Clos de la Croix de Fer; Josiane Decaudin; +33 (0)238.35.90.57; j.decaudin@wanadoo.fr
Neuvy en Sullias; le Clos de Félines; Catherine Baille; +33 (0) 2 38 58 37 07; closfelines@wanadoo.fr
Esclauzels; Les Pat O’ Cou du Diamant Noir; Reine Dutrieux; +33 (0)5.65.24.75.97; reine1.dutrieux@orange.fr
Essey les Nancy; d’andesina villa; Anne Steinmetz / Julien Virbel; +33 6 85 83 84 77 ; julien.virbel@laposte.net
Planques; du Manoir d’Uzès; Patricia Usé; usepatricia@gmail.com
Blendecques; Le Domaine de Rougail; Valérie Delohen; +33.3.21.11.08.32; valdelohen@orange.fr
Bruay la Buissière; des Chartreuses de Saint Roch; Monique Salembier ; +33 321535376; jm-salembier@wanadoo.fr
Lahourcade; le Vallon de la Roussane; Céline Lavignotte ; +33 (0)559827340; laroussane@gmail.com
St. Armou; des Pelutes Biarnes; Sabine Martine-Roche ; +33 (0)5.59.35.05.08; sabinerodolphe@cegetel.net
Schweighouse;  De la Tour des Pècheurs; Armand Barbier; +33 (0)388727149; ad.barbier@wanadoo.fr
Waldolwisheim; du Jardin aux Eglantines; Natalie Feidt; +33 (0)6 06 70 29 23; eglantines-briards@laposte.net
Motey sur Saone; van de Boksenberg; Winni Haazen; +0033 (0) 339170019; info@boksenbergbriard.net
Nogent le Bernard; la Maison de Suzie; Anita Ballan; +33(0) 870 466 761; anitaballan@gmail.com
Dieppe; du Mont des 4 Vents; Brigitte Gremare; +33 (0)2.35.84.32.92; gremare-brigitte@bbox.fr
Verdelot; la Chaume du Bois Dieu; Corinne & Jacques de Brouwer; +33 (0)164049573; chaumeduboisdieu@ozone.net
Villennes sur Seine;  du Sentier des Myrtilles; Delphine Sauzay; +33 (0)1 39 75 50 59; sauzayd@yahoo.fr
Chenay; Les Champs du Puy; Isabelle Cosset; +33 (0)549.59.02.12; leschampsdupuy@wanadoo.fr
Nueil les Aubiers; La Gagée de Bohême; Noëlle Hay; +33 (0)6 85 05 85 59; la_gagee_de_boheme@orange.fr
Dourgne – Arfons; des Cèdres de la Montagne Noire; Martial & Gigi Chouvel; +33 (0) 5.63.74.16.16; briards@online.fr
Andryes; De PassionEdan; Solange Couturier; +33 (0)6.83.68.01.50; soledanad@wanadoo.fr
Ormesson sur Marne; L’Ecume Noire; Claire Paraire; +33 (0) 1 45 93 39 34; claire.paraire@free.fr

FINLAND

Sundom; Kronvik; Ulla-Maj & Timo Leppakorpi; 358 (0) 500 296965; pepsukka@gmail.com

GERMANY

Neu Lankau; Vossenberg ; Carola and Werner Griepenkerl; +04542-6244; werner.griepenkerl@gmx.de
Vom Jägersee; Andreas & Martina Willner; martina@briards-vom-jaegersee.de
Wermsdorf OT Luppa; Du Petit Puits de Gravie; Ute man; +49 (0) 34361 53591; ute@hotmail.de
Dessau; Zottelbär; Ulrike & Gerald Theumer; +49 (0) 340-613038; theumer_zottelbaer@t-online.de
Gera; The honey of children; Susanna Masur; +49 (0) 365/4203673; vetmasur@gmx.de
Waltersdorf; De la petite saxonie; Antje & Holm Schwichtenberg; +49 (0) 3762-47470; H.Schwichtenberg@t-online.de
Waltersdorf; Of the transhumance; Bernd Stephan; +49 (0) 33762-48286; bernd@wanderschaeferei.de
Schwanebeck; From the Barnimer Land; Petra peace-Bez; +49 (0) 30 944 19352;  briard@barnim.net
Woez; From the Schildeta; Franziska core; +49 (0) 38853/33515; franziska.kern@gmx.de
Lancken; From the maple pond; Annett wood; +49 (0) 38731/22689; annett.holz@yahoo.de
Lübbersdorf; Starigards sun; Mireille Kudling; + 49 (0) 4361-7171; mireille-kudling@gmx.de
Neu Lankau;  From Vossenberg; Carola & Werner Griepenkerl; +49 (0) 4542 6244; vom-vossberg@web.de

NEW ZEALAND

AUBREY,Westport; Gavin Haussmann; + 789 7784; gavie_haussmann@hotmail.com

RUSSIA

St-Petersbourg; Mohnatoe Chudo; Evgenia Vanjukova; +7-812-2264838; claire@aprec.ru
Velikiy Novgorod; Yurmis Fide; Marina Kostina & Yuri Kostin; +7-8162-67-33-29; yurmis@bk.ru

SLOVAKIA

Bratislava; Shaggy Kasiterit; Peter Pilny; +421 905 412186; kasiterit@naex.sk
Bratislava; Arte Cassari; Zuzana & Martin Likier; +421 9049370570; artecassari@nextra.sk
Filakovo; Bonaventura Brie; Jozef Bystron ; +421 907401424; jozefbystron@zoznam.sk
Malacky; Eminentia Sibra; MVDr. Silvia Ficová; +421-905 757 846; sibra@brabec.sk

SPAIN

Girona; The Xargall; Alberich Elena; +34 636418355; xargall@xargall.com
Alicante; de Dasilva; Conchita Valenti; +34 965453536; dasilva@perrosdasilva.com
Nos-Oleiros; Gallaecia Fvlget; Carmen Cebrián Muiños; +34.981.65.30.91; Nos-Oleiros; gallaecia@ya.com
Granada; Albaycan; Trini Martin; +34-958183462; albaycan@eresmas.com
Granada; Los Laureles; Ana Loureiro; Granada; loslaureles@avired.com
Alclacan; Antonio Barranco Melero; +34 661 80 86 45; Martos Jaen; alclacan@hotmail.com
Madrid; A Veiga do Pomariño; Tamar Troncoso & Ignacio Pereira; +34 679158806; aveigadopomarino@aveigadopomarino.com
Cartagena; Haberlas Hailas; Bea Lorenzo Lopez; +34 666580710 ; bea@haberlashailas.com
Cantabria; Montes de Lunada; Elsa González & Eloy Ortega; +34 646310120; montesdelunadabriard@yahoo.es
Alcañiz (Teruel); Los Tres Sauces; Jose Mira & Lola Fernandez; +34 978 832915; los3sauces@los3sauces.com
Riveira – A Coruña; La pata del Cid; Carmen Gonzalez Santos; +34 696 201 787; delapatadelcid@mundo-r.com

SWEDEN

SKÄRHOLMEN; Whatuas; Veronica Leijdt; +46 (0)8 464 81 80; kennelwhatuas@hotmail.com
Stockholm; Hippie Royale; Annica Bylin; +46 (0)73 710 73 31; briards@hippieroyale.se
Enhörna; Cartier Monzerat; Jaana Laumola; +46 (0)736408099; jaanasbriard@hotmail.com
Bunkeflostrand; Mc Marra’s; Marianna Wensbo Salomonson; +46 (0)40 51 11 19; mcmarras@telia.com
Sösdala; Trésor de Brie; Eva Håkansson; +46 702 12 62 01; tdbeva@hotmail.com
Kävlinge; Aldurs; Jeanette & Jonas Hammarberg; +46 (0)46 72 86 76; briard@aldurs.nu
Tyringe; Black Regall; Nicole Martinsson / Jimmy Christiansson; +46 (0)709 429287; nicole@martinic.se
Värnamo; LaCrosse; Teija Haapajoki; +46 (0)370 152 33; lacrosse@telia.com
Ronneby; Rave On; Eva Gren; +46 (0)457 144 25; kennelraveon@hotmail.com
Åsa; Berger la Motte’s; Marianne Bartholdsson; +46(0)707 590980; billan@telia.com
Färgelanda; LarWass; Ylva Lindström; +46 (0)528 30405; kennel@larwass.com
Trosa; Punk Pollux; Anna Jonsson; +46 (0)73 785 48 00; anna@eyes.se
Kil; Matisse; Marie Tissel; +46 (0)554 10236; humlan_marie@hotmail.com
Torsby; Woodlooks; Ingela Holm; +46 (0)56071129; ngela@woodlooks.se
Knutby; Shebrie’s; Yvonne Ahlin; +46 (0)174 651 00; shebries@telia.com
Mockfjärd; Nickans; Marita Hybertsen Lindqvist; +46 (0)241 20582; likka@user.bip.net
Gagnef; Goblinwalley; Katarina Ränssi; +46 (0)241 62603; goblinwalley@hotmail.com
Hedesunda; Ále Ciela’s; Kicki Sandberg; +46 (0)291 440 64; kicki@briarder.se
Enånger; Beardbass; EwaLena Nordell; +46 (0)650550096; ewalena@mail.bip.net
Domsjö; Eau de Luxx; Therese Sångberg; +46705601149; real81@hotmail.com
Lulea; Anamma Nord; Marie Tarin; +46 (0)70 335 32 44; marie.tarin@telia.com

SWITZERLAND

Bougy-Villars; des Pierrailles; Christiane Comby; +41(0)21 808 61 77; briard@pierrailles.com
Saint-Blaise; du bois des pierres noires; Anne Du Bois; +41 32 753 27 94; du-bois-des-pierres-noires@freesurf.ch
Schwarzenburg; des enfants de Pigale; Claudia Holzer-Breu; +41 (0)31 731 21 69; claudia.holzer@bluewin.ch
Wangen a /A; de la Maison du Jardin; Sabine Heiniger; +41 (0)32 631 07 82; Sabine@hesa.ch
Spiez; El Amahar; Regina Briggen; +41 (0)33 654 67 10; regebriggen@swissonline.ch
Villigen; del Pata viento; Bea Hayoz & Enzo Corvaglia; +41 (0)56 534 1021; briards@pataviento.ch
Schüpfheim; du Chateau Soleil; Anja Bäumer; +41 (0) 41 484 25 68; mark_anja@gmx.ch
Magadino; Lago Maggiore; Kirta Bühring; +41 (0)91 752 01 00; k.buehring@bluewin.ch
Wasterkingen; de la Colline du Grand Seigneur; Katja Werner; +41 79 688 69 93; info@briard.ch
Effretikon; Grendel; Gaby Igual; +41 (0)52 343 29 29; briard@sunrise.ch
Benken; Broba d’Or; Barbara Broder; +41 (0)555356005; Dezaley@gmx.ch

UNITED KINGDOM

Tonyrefail; Gilcoru; Jan & Gordon Rual;+01443 672089; jangilcoru@hotmail.com

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

CA, Los Angeles; Lebec; Jeanne Lorang; Lebec@Briard.com
MA, Brookfield; Eiledon; Karen Westerholm & Beth Coughlin; +1-508-637-1242; info@eiledonbriards.com
NA, Corrales; Enchanted; Mary Weir; mweir13@aol.com
NY, New York; du Nouveau; Victoria BochorskiI & Janet Couture; +1 585-395-1357; vgbny@frontiernet.net