BASSET GRIFFON VENDEEN (PETIT) BREEDERS

PBGVs are extroverted, friendly, and independent hounds. Sometimes called the “happy breed,” PBGVs have tirelessly wagging tails and expressive, intelligent eyes. PBGVs are typically active and lively. While good with children, other dogs and pets, they may be unsuitable for very young children because of their energy and tendency to play bite. The PBGV standard states that the dog should “give voice freely”—as is typical of hounds, petits are outspoken dogs. If their ‘pack’ begins howling or singing, the dog will join in, with amusing results. PBGVs may howl alone or with a companion; they may howl to music, for fun, or in protest at being left alone. PBGV companions report that sleeping dogs have been known to awaken and howl along with favorite songs. The PBGV is not a quiet dog. While no PBGV would ever be called “yappy,” their assertive, hound-bray is uncharacteristically loud for their petite stature. The outspoken nature of a PBGV varies from dog to dog, but even the shyest Petit will greet other dogs with a bark or call.

When looking for a puppy to purchase it is highly recommended to contact any of the Breed Clubs we have listed for this breed since it is they who should be able to put you in touch with members who have bred litters according to their Club’s Code of Ethics.

BUYER BEWARE;  Some breeders listed here may not be members of a Basset Griffon Vendeen (Petit) Breed Club, there may be good reasons for this, but ask the question before you enter into any transaction.

AUSTRALIA

NSW, Broken Hill ; Shirakhan ; Janine Ali +08-80886859 ; pandjali@bigpond.net.au
NSW, Agnes Banks ; “LEANR” ; Robyn Williams +(02) 4776 1332 ; leanr54@gmail.com
VIC, Gisborne ; Rokeena PBGV’s ; Robyn Wallis +03 54 28 1787 ; rokeena@bigpond.net.au
VIC, Gippsland ; DILEANN ; Berry Johnson +0438 871266 ; dileann@hotmail.com

NEW ZEALAND

Ohoka ; BEAUVOIR ; Martin and Wendy Hewitt +033126504 ; hunterspark@xtra.co.nz
Oamaru ; CHAMBRE ; Denise & Aleisha Velenski +03 4349639 ; ChambrePBGVs@gmail.com

UNITED KINGDOM

BEDFORDSHIRE ; Jacmist ; Jackie Hornby +01234 720695 ; jacmist@hotmail.com
CARMARTHENSHIRE ; Tangaer ; Linda Lewis +01269 844524 ; tangaer@hotmail.co.uk
CAMBRIDGESHIRE ; Maudaxi ; Phil & Dianne Reid ; +01733 252484 / 07801 950895 ; maudaxibgv@gmail.com
DORSET ; Overbecks ; Lynne Scott +01258 452620 / 07900 928816 ; lynne.scott@overbeckspetits.co.uk
ESSEX ; Beaujons ; Steve & Lynn Wood +01268 555072 ; wood_stephen9@sky.com
ESSEX ; Monkhams ; Linda Skerritt & Jenna Betts +07941 262893 ; monkhams@aol.com
GLOUCESTERSHIRE ; Trezeguet ; Chris & Debs Blake *01454 884492 ; trezeguet@blueyonder.co.uk
HERTFORDSHIRE ; Debucher ; Vivien Phillips +01442 851225 ; vphillips@btinternet.com
HIGHLAND, SCOTLAND ; Limier ; Linda MacKenzie +01667 454043 ; linda@limierbgv.plus.com
LINCOLNSHIRE ; Jadestone ; Gail Clifton +01775 761368 ; gail.clifton@btinternet.com
OXFORDSHIRE ; Soletrader ; Gavin & Sara Robertson +01491 836103 ; gavinpbgv@aol.com
SUSSEX ; Nykarth ; Kathryn Moulding +07929 427246 ; nykarth@hotmail.co.uk
YORKSHIRE ; Helensfield ; Helen Bamforth +01484 850311

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MN, Duluth ; “Mirepoix PBGVs” ; Jan Zigich & Ross Litman +218.721.4453 ; mirepoixpbgv@gmail.com